### MARIN COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS AND COUNCILMEMBERS AGENDA

## Wednesday, October 26, 2022 5:30pm

Hosted by the City of Novato Ayawaska Hilltop ~ 850 Lamont Ave., Novato, CA

Business Meeting will begin at 5:30.

The City Selection Committee meeting (see separate agenda, below, or <u>online</u>) will begin at 5:45pm, or upon conclusion of the MCCMC Business Meeting, whichever is later.

#### 5:30 PM: Business Meeting Agenda

- 1. Call to Order: MCCMC President Brian Colbert
- **2. Public Comment** (Limit 3 minutes per person)
- 3. Committee Reports
- 3.a. Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) 3a.Report from Supervisor Damon Connolly
- 3.b. Association of Bay Area Governments
  - 3b. Written report from Pat Eklund, Novato
- 3.c. BCDC Report from North Bay representative on the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC) \* No report
  - 3c. Written report from Pat Eklund, Novato
- 3.d. Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District \*
  - 3d. Written report from Holli Thier, Tiburon
- 3.e. Sonoma-Marin Area Rail Transit (SMART) \*
  - 3e. Written report provided by Dan Hillmer, Larkspur
- 3.g. Transportation Authority of Marin
  - 3g. Written report by Alice Fredericks, Tiburon.

#### 4. Business Items

4.a. Consideration and Possible Action to Make Appointments to Committees.

Expiration of current terms were announced and Letters of Interest were solicited at the September 28, 2022 meeting. Appointments will be made at the October 26, 2022 MCCMC Meeting.

<u>4.a.1. MCCMC Representatives to League of California Cities, North Bay Division</u> Executive Board for Calendar Year 2023.

Three seats have expiring terms:

Representative, 2nd Representative and Alternate Representative. MCCMC Representatives are appointed annually for the upcoming calendar year.

<sup>\* =</sup> Indicates report not available at time of agenda publication. The packet will be updated online and redistributed once these items are available.

#### Incumbents are:

- 1st: Charles Lee, Corte Madera
- 2nd: Gabe Paulson, Larkspur;
- Alternate: Eli Beckman, Corte Madera

Incumbent Eli Beckman, Corte Madera, has indicated interest in seeking appointment to a one-year term as one of the two primary representatives and will submit a letter of interest.

Jill Hoffman, Sausalito, has indicated interest in seeking appointment to a oneyear term as one of the two primary representatives and has submitted a letter of interest.

#### Attachment 4.a.1.:

Letter of Interest from Eli Beckman, Corte Madera (1st Representative)(not available at time of agenda publication)

Letter of Interest from Jill Hoffman, Sausalito (2<sup>nd</sup> Representative)

- No letters of interest received for Alternate.

#### 4.a.2. Marin Transit Board of Directors

Representatives to the Marin Transit Board:

Primary Representative 1; Primary Representative 2; Alternate Representative

- Primary Representative 1, Kate Colin, San Rafael: Seat expires January 1, 2023
- Primary Representative 2, Eric Lucan, Novato (leaving office): Seat expires January 1, 2024 one year remaining on term.
- Alternate Representative: Brian Colbert, San Anselmo, Seat expires January 1, 2023

Incumbent Brian Colbert, San Anselmo, and Maribeth Bushey, San Rafael, have indicated interest in seeking appointment as the two Primary Representatives and have submitted letters of interest.

Fred Casissa, Corte Madera, has expressed interest in appointment as Alternate, and has submitted a letter of interest.

#### Attachment 4.a.2.:

Letter of Interest, Maribeth Bushey, San Rafael, dated September 20, 2022 (primary representative, 2 year term);

Letter of Interest, Brian Colbert, San Anselmo, dated October 20, 2022 (primary representative, remaining 1 year of unexpired 2-year term)

Letter of Interest, Fred Casissa, Corte Madera dated October 21, 2022 (Alternate)

#### 4.a.3. Sonoma-Marin Area Rail Transit Board of Directors

MCCMC appoints one at-large member from a city other than Novato or San Rafael. The incumbent, Dan Hillmer, Larkspur, is not seeking re-election and will be leaving office in December. His current four-year term on the SMART Board expires February, 2025.

Gabe Paulson, Larkspur, has indicated interest in seeking appointment and will submit a letter of interest.

Attachment 4.a.3.: Letter of interest, Gabe Paulson, Larkspur

4.b. Announcement Of Upcoming Nomination Of Up To Three Candidates To The Board Of Supervisors For Marin Commissioner To The Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Supervisor Damon Connolly, who will be leaving office in December, 2022, is the incumbent representative, and was appointed to a 4-year term expiring February 2023. At a City Selection Committee meeting to be convened January 22, 2023, the Committee will vote on a maximum of three candidates to forward to the Marin County Board of Supervisors. The Board of Supervisors will then agendize the item and select an appointee to represent the County of Marin on the Commission

Notice of the end of the current term will be announced and Letters of Interest will be solicited at the October 26, 2022 meeting. At the January 22, 2023 meeting the City Selection Committee will convene to nominate up to three candidates for consideration by the Marin County Board of Supervisors for appointment to a new 4-year term.

<u>Attachment 4b</u>: Correspondence from MTC regarding appointment process, request for nominations (not available at time of agenda publication)

 Review of Draft Agenda for January 25, 2023 MCCMC Meeting To Be Held Virtually, Via Zoom.

Attachment 4c: Draft agenda for January 25, 2023 MCCMC Meeting

4.d. Consideration and Possible Approval of Draft Minutes of the September 28, 2022 MCCMC Meeting

Attachment 4.d: Draft minutes of the September 28, 2022 MCCMC meeting

ADJOURN: To the January 25, 2023 meeting, to be held virtually via zoom

Deadline for Agenda Items – January 18, 2023. Please send to: <a href="mailto:MCCMCSecretary@gmail.com">MCCMCSecretary@gmail.com</a>

# 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM: Program & Networking, Hosted by the City of Novato Ayawaska Hilltop ~ 850 Lamont Ave., Novato, CA

- 1. Welcome and Introduction of Guests: President Brian Colbert
- 2. Host City Introduction of Councilmembers and Staff: Mayor Eric Lucan
- 3. Honoring Outgoing Councilmembers