MARIN COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS AND COUNCILMEMBERS MINUTES

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Hosted by the City of Belvedere San Francisco Yacht Club, 98 Beach Rd.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Belvedere: John Telischak, Barbara Morrison, Thomas Cromwell

Corte Madera: Melissa Gill, John Dupar

Fairfax: Susan Brandborg

Larkspur: Joan Lundstrom, Kathy Hartzell

Mill Valley: Anne Solem, Shawn Marshall, Christopher Raker, Dick Swanson, Andy Berman,

Novato: Carole Dillon-Knutson, Jean Macleamy

San Anselmo: Barbara Thornton, Judy House, Wayne Cooper, Ted Freeman

San Rafael: Barbara Heller, Al Boro, Gary Philips, Paul Cohen

Sausalito: Ron Albert, Amy Belser. Dennis Scremin

Tiburon: Alice Fredericks, Jeff Slavitz, Miles Berger, Tom Gram

Absent: Ross

Also present were City and Town Managers George Rodericks, Belvedere, Dana Whitson, Sausalito, Debra Stutsman, San Anselmo, Anne Montgomery, Mill Valley, Ken Nordhoff, San Rafael, and Peggy Curran, Tiburon.

CALL TO ORDER: President Alice Fredericks called the business meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Welcome and Introduction of Guests:

Mayor John Telischak welcomed everyone to Belvedere and introduced fellow councilmembers, retired Councilmember Bruce Sams, and the following staff members: George Rodericks, City Manager, Pierce Macdonald, Planning Manager, Bob Branz, City Engineer, Lee Braun, Building Official, Scott Derdenger, Public Works Superintendent, Leslie Carpentiers, Assistant to the City Manager.

Other Guests: Margaret Jones, Patsy White and Judy Binsacca of the League of Women Voters, Henry Gardner, Executive Director of ABAG, Peter Banning, Marin LAFCO.

President Fredericks announced that the city select committee (all mayors) would meet at 5:30 pm, prior to the next meeting on November 29th at Tiburon Town Hall.

Approval of Minutes: September 27, 2006.

Moved and seconded to approve the minutes. Motion passed.

Announcement of Nominations to Committees - President Alice Fredericks announced the following openings:

- Major Crimes Task Force Oversight Committee Citizen Appointee -Term expires 1/07 -Incumbent Richard Hill seeks reappointment
- Sonoma/Marin Area Rail Transit Commission (SMART) Term expires 1/07
 MCCMC appoints one Board member Appointment to be made at Nov. meeting Peter Breen seeks reappointment
- Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Term expires 2/07
 MCCMC may nominate up to 3 candidates Board of Supervisors appoints.

MCCMC will make nomination at November meeting Steve Kinsey seeks reappointment

Committee Reports

- a. <u>Transportation Authority of Marin</u> Alice Fredericks gave an update on the various projects. She announced that the Sir Francis Drake West undergrounding has been completed and there will be a celebration on Friday at noon. Workshops have been scheduled throughout the fall and winter on the Greenbrae corridor project. Completion of the Gap Closure project is targeted for 2010. The EIR on the Novato narrows project will be completed by 2007.
- b. <u>Legislative Committee</u> Shawn Marshall announced that Marin's Lobbyist David Jones recently reported on the Governor's veto on the SB46 issue. She noted that there are additional steps to be taken. The Committee will meet with the newly elected Assemblyman for our District after the election. She asked members to forward any issues they would like discussed to chair Anne Solem.

Public Open Time - Gary Phillips invited everyone to the Marin Economics Commission award luncheon on Thursday, November 9th.

DINNER

PROGRAM: Amy O'Gorman, Regional Public Affairs Manager North Bay and Redwood Empire Divisions, League of California Cities.

ADJOURN: President Alice Fredericks adjourned the meeting at 8:40 p.m. to the next meeting on November 29th in Tiburon.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Z. Here

Mary Herr

Secretary/Treasurer